Feb 01, 2023 to Dec 31, 2023
Funding Agency:
Focus Area(s):
Competition Policy, Trade and Industry, Regional Integration
Project Director:
Quimba, Francis Mark A.

Indo-Pacific Economic Framework for Prosperity (IPEF) was launched in May 2022, with now 14 members - Australia, Brunei, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, United States, and Vietnam. IPEF countries account for around 40% of the global GDP and 32% of the world’s population. They comprise 41% of the global output and 28% of the global trade. The study will shed light on the identity of IPEF and will provide recommendations on how the country can better benefit from this new cooperation framework.


To determine how IPEF complements with the national goals

- achieving the SDGs, digital trade, MSMEs, etc.

To identify potential areas of cooperation.

- trade, investment, and economic development cooperation

To identify areas of potential risks.

- strategic challenges, geopolitical positioning

Main Menu

Secondary Menu